scoring_index=2957927150213027427scoring_index=2957927150213027427John W. Teets | John W. Teets Awardscoring_index=2957927150213027427

Commitment to Education

ASU Outstanding Teaching Award

In 1999, John Teets established the John W. Teets Outstanding Teaching Award to recognize student-nominated professors and teaching assistants as elite members of the academic community.

This award is student-driven; it is determined by a student committee based on nominations from students. Award recipients receive stipends in the amount of $7,000 for the Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award; $7,000 for the Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award; and $3,500 for the Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant.

The John W. Teets Outstanding Teaching Award is presented to professors who:

  • Inspire academic excellence, stimulate students to become active participants in their own learning and take pride in motivating students to do their best work;
  • Evidence a commitment to and enthusiasm for their students;
  • Possess a contagious love of knowledge;
  • Show enthusiasm for the development of students as well as for the subject matter of the classes they teach;
  • Strive, during each class session, to create a high quality learning environment;
  • Serve as mentors to link students to careers, professions or programs they wish to enter;
  • Are available to students beyond posted minimum office hours;
  • Have the ability to challenge students while distilling and synthesizing complex information to make it more understandable;
  • Are sensitive to the values and needs of a diverse student populace;
  • Have earned the respect of their students;
  • Exhibit creative and innovative teaching strategies in the continuous and sustained pursuit of teaching excellence.

The John W. Teets Outstanding Teaching Award will be presented to graduate assistants who:

  • Show enthusiasm for student success and for the subject matter of the classes they teach;
  • Go above and beyond the requirements to provide their students with meaningful understanding of the subject matter.

Current Recipients

2022Graduate TeachingReynold ByersSupply Chain Management
2022Undergraduate TeachingEric KnottManagement and Entrepreneurship
2022Undergraduate Teaching AssistantSubham SharmaInformation Systems

Full List of Previous Recipients

W. P. Carey honors faculty
with John W. Teets Outstanding Teaching Awards

Contact Us